Posted in That 80s film

Ghostbusters (1984)

When there’s something strange in the neighbourhood..who ya gonna call, Soneas blog !  Well that is if you want to hear about the Ghostbusters. The soundtrack alone is something magnificent and imprinted in most of our minds I’m sure. The various music what I can only vision as swing/jazz is definitely to my liking and i loved hearing them all. Geek much? What can i say, I love movie soundtracks.

This is a movie that never fails to make me laugh. Three university professors have been investigating the supernatural world without any success. Their pompous attitude “back off man, i’m a scientist” gets them into trouble let alone failure to come up with anything useful. Even upon seeing an apparating  ghost reading a book, they scream and run out of the library, as they are told “your methods are sloppy and your conclusions are highly questionable” so they are removed from the university.

Shortly after they set up their own paranormal workshop in a run down place calling themselves the ‘Ghostbusters’ with a secretary in   hope of making some money. Although none of them had anticipated what was in store for them in a giant vortex of all things spooky.

The men are more comfortable to hoax their way with some fancy “it’s technical” equipment to make ghosts happen and vanish. One they didn’t think to really greet them in a refrigerator of Dana Baretts apartment which opens up a whole  can of demons.

Strapped up in their one piece suit, their proton back pack, and their energy stream beams that resemble a flowing laser to blast ghosts, you’d think they were ready to exterminate some rather giant bugs.

They encounter their first  ‘slimer’, a green eccentric ghost causing havoc at a prestige hotel, and get their first break to capture it, getting more than they bargained for “we got one”! as calls start coming through for their help and begin to attract media attention, meaning more demand for work so Winston is hired as their fourth member. “if theirs a steady paycheck in it, I’ll believe anything”. 

Ghostbusters is one of those rare movies that simply worked for the characters choice of words and chemistry on screen. You have Peter, the sarcastic man of choice who loves to indulge in lady love), Raymond, the eccentric guy who strikes a plan at awkward moments but acts foolish), Spengler (the quirky  genius minded who likes to collect spores, moulds and fungus ) and Winston who’s  “seen shit that’ll turn you white”.

 The movie works without trying to be funny (someone who rarely likes modern  comedy), as their wit is formed in monotone which makes it that more entertaining.

There is no overused slapstick involved, just a whole lot of smart humour, brain and heart. When Peter  (Murray ),needs to inspect Danas apartment he says ” I’ll go to her apartment and check her out. I mean I’ll go with her to check out the apartment” without breaking into any smile which repeats quite often in dialogue. My kind of funny.

Ghostbusters may not have the special effects it could do with making this superb but that’s exactly what it never needed in the first place. With demon possession, various  (slimy) ghosts, and a remarkable giant Marshmallow Man, the movie holds  enough strength to be loved by the crowd for it’s creativity.

The sarcasm of the humour throughout the movie is genius and very likeable that  you can almost see past the flaws of any effects it lacks. It’s something I miss in modern day comedy films so I choose to avoid them.

This is a well deserved classic to be recognised as it pulls out all the right tricks from an energy beam. The serious thrill of some senseless engaging humour is enough to blast a smile across your face . Very rarely can a blend of comedy and supernatural be done so well as this has.

So remember folks, if you’re troubled by strange noises in the night , experiencing feelings of dread in your attic, pick up the phone and call the professionals..we’re ready to believe you!

Credits: Movie poster artwork by Joshua Budich

Directed by: Ivan Reitman.

Written by Dan Aykroyd and Harold Ramos.

Starring: Bill Murray, Sigourney Weaver, Dan Aykroyd, Harold Ramis, Rock Moranis and others.

Music by: Elmer Bernstein.

Other honourable mentions from 1984 that I love:

The Terminator Directed by James Cameron.

The Karate Kid Directed by John G. Avildsen.

Splash Directed by Ron Howard

Gremlins Directed by Joe Dante

Author:

I'm sonea from a city in the u.k. Born in the late 80's with a vintage heart. My blog is made up of my thoughts; be it on a great movie, a book or a game and other ideas that set my mind apart.. here on an open platform to share with the rest of the world. Won't you join me..

13 thoughts on “Ghostbusters (1984)

  1. I love this movie! It’s brilliantly smart as you mentioned and Sigourney Weaver is majestic in this!
    I’ve read many reviews (I’m more a spectator than a writer) but your movie reviews are throughly enjoyable than some straightforward ones I’ve come across that just sell the story as it is. I like your input and great thoughts that are expanded. The dialogue excerpts add a nice touch and you have an entertaining way of telling it.👌

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi. Thank you for commenting with such kindness and I’m glad you enjoyed my review on it. I like to try and make things more entertaining coming from my perspective as it becomes less of a standard critic format and people can engage on a personal level. Yes Sigourney Weaver looks amazing in her ‘transformation’. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha, the start of this post really cracked me up: nice one! 😂😂 Man, seriously these days I really seem to be stuck in 80’s mode. It’s so nice to look back on all these classics, and I could not agree with you more, this film is a true classic. The characters were great, the idea itself was at the time very original, and ofcourse the humor was incredible. This is one of those movies that will never get old, and will always be enjoyable no matter how many times you see it. Loved this post: all I can say is: keep them coming 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😉 It just had to be done. I believe we’ve gone through some kind of portal of the backwards town where everything turns 80s. They call it the ‘nostalgic virus.’ But never fear, I heard it has great powers of influence and makes your vision stronger. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  3. As a child of the 80s I’m loving this series of posts. I echo Daniel’s thoughts, the personal touch you bring to your reviews is very refreshing. 1984 was a great year, as well as your selections I would add Night of the Comet and Paris,Texas and wasn’t there an Indiana Jones film released somewhere?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh thank you very much Paul for liking my reviews too. I never know if I’m good enough or if it’s too strange to say certain things but then again that’s what I’m made of.

      Unfortunately with so many classics to keep up with, some are bound to get lots along the way so thank you for sharing your favourites too as I shall look into them. I didn’t add the Temple of Doom because I couldn’t remember it as clearly being a film I’ve watched many times but nevertheless a great movie.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Pradita. Yes I’m always curious what the next generation of kids will be watching but for now I feel these timeless classics are very hard to get right again as they become another copy. There was something quite special about these movies for me and I’m sure for you too.

      I’ll check out the tag and thank you for nominating me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re most welcome Sweetheart 🙂 Remakes or no, the originals are still the best and I hope the next generations will appreciate the originals too. Keep doing the good work bringing such classics to light 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

