Posted in That 80s film

The Lost Boys (1987)

‘Thou shall not fall, Thou shall not kill’ echoes across the ocean in the night sky, as an amusement park is seen overhead,  zooming  into the ground where the kids and teenagers are enjoying the rides and entertainment. A group of punk looking boys who are dressed  to kill, cause a fight when they meddle with another guys girlfriend and are told to get off the boardwalk. ” Ok boys, let’s go”. After a long night, the guard walks to his car, only to be attacked and lifted off the ground by an unseen force into the darkness.

In sunny daylight, Sam( Corey Haim) along with his brother Michael ( Jason Patric) and his mum, (Dianne Wiest ) are seen travelling to Santa Carla where “it smells like someone died”.  They arrive at their grandpa’s shabby, creepy – looking house, where he pretends to be passed out. ” If he’s dead can we go back to Phoenix ?”  Welcome home kids (!).

Upon entering, they find it looks as creepy on the inside as it is on the outside, run down like a broken up shack. Nice home, ” yeah for the Texas Chainsaw Massacre”. They also find their grandpa has a whole back room full of dead animals ready to be stuffed, but he means well, as  company sure comes empty handed in these parts of the town.

In the refrigerator, the ‘old fart’ labelled shelf is where he keeps his double thick Oreos and root beer so ” nobody touches the second shelf but me”. 

His eccentric demeanour is portrayed throughout the movie which makes for some subtle laughs which I really enjoyed because it’s my kind of humour.  A ‘cool’ but strange grandpa who has no tv but likes to read the tv guide and wears Windex cleaner as aftershave.

The teenage brothers are soon off to explore what the town has to offer; it’s got a great amusement park, some illegal jobs and alot of missing kids.

At a musical festival, which has a great rock and jazz combined band playing for two minutes at best, is an amazing scene. It shows off the 80’s, semi hippie atmosphere and I love that they gave the band the time to shine. It’s also such a great piece which credits an oiled up Tim Cappello looking rather glorious with his saxophone.  That’s something you won’t see today but I Still Believe as he sings in the little clip I’ve included for entertainment.

Michael draws his attention to a curly haired girl named Star, ( Jami Gertz) who fascinates him as she dances, glancing at him every now and then. Very cute.

While Michael follows his sex glands to find this mysterious girl, Sam wanders off to a comic store where he is approached by two boys Edgar (Corey Feldman) and Alan ( Jamison Newlander) who are ”  just scoping your civilian wardrobe “. Evidently meeting their match as another ‘comic nerd’ who knows his stuff as he explains that certain issues can’t go next to each other because they haven’t discovered Kryton yet.

The pair waste no time in handing  Sam an issue of  Vampires Everywhere. They’d like to think of it as their personal survival vampire manual but Sam doesn’t like horror comics ” oh but you’ll like this one Mr. Phoenix. It might save your life”. 

Michael on the other hand finally finds and gets to talk to the mystery lady but is quickly approached by the same punk boys from the boardwalk who are associated with Star, and ask Michael to keep up, as they ride through the misty cold air, taking him to an abandoned cave where they seem to hideout in their  lair.

Their hospitality towards him is somewhat strange as Michael is aware of, but he sits down to some Chinese food where he begins to see things that are not quite there..” how are those maggots” ?Rice that turns into  maggots but changes again to seem ‘normal’.  When Michael grabs the next box he  starts to see worms. ” They’re only noodles Michael”. A charming trickster a vampire possesses well.

Moments pass when the head leader David (Kiefer Sutherland) offers Michael a jewelled bottle ” drink some of this Michael, be one of us”, ignoring Stars warning that it is blood. Soon Michael begins to feel unusual, he has his ears pierced to fit in with the angst punk boys and sunglasses to throw some shade on the world, though that is the least of his worries when he  begins to feel thirsty for something other than milk and floats up to his bedroom ceiling. This calls for some flying lessons!

This is the epitome of a great classic 80’s movie done right. The moment the scene opens, you feel transported into the era with some of the greatest music from amazing bands such as INXS and Jimmy Barnes, Echo and the Bunnymen that are placed in certain scenes that i’ve come across in a movie, so having the motion picture  soundtrack is a must have on my list. I’ve also discovered so many more  since watching this movie again, that I can really appreciate now.

It has the same iconic humour that was so  loved in the Goonies, Ghostbusters and Home Alone that make this comedy horror so likeable. It was a movie I cherished around the age of ten  and it really stood out for me as an intrguing vampire movie of its time, because let’s face it, most movies of such genre tend to suck.

These are a group of comic enthusiasts who are ” fighting for the Truth, Justice and the American way “.  They have read enough issues  to know how to defend themselves against  the creatures of the night. Whether they can kill them is another story.

Armed with holy water guns, and their  longbows, the boys have a long night ahead of them if they want to stake out the head vampire in hopes of bringing Santa Carla back to humanity. It’s truly a timeless classic worth sinking your teeth into.

Credits: Movie poster artwork by MalevolentNate on Devianart

Directed by: Joel Schumacher

Story by : Janice Fischer and James Jeremias

Starring : Corey Feldman, Jason Patric, Kiefer Sutherland, Edward Herrmann and others

Music by : Thomas Newman

Other honourable mentions from 1987 that I love :

Predator:  Directed by John McTiernan

Robocop : Directed by Paul Verhoeven

A Nightmare on Elm Street 3 Dream Warriors: Directed by Wes Craven

Good Morning Vietnam: Directed by Barry Levinson

Evil Dead 2 : Directed by Sam Raimi

The Witches of Eastwick : Directed by George Miller

The Untouchables : Directed by Brian De Palma

Author:

I'm sonea from a city in the u.k. Born in the late 80's with a vintage heart. My blog is made up of my thoughts; be it on a great movie, a book or a game and other ideas that set my mind apart.. here on an open platform to share with the rest of the world. Won't you join me..

17 thoughts on “The Lost Boys (1987)

  1. And the 80’s vibe continues. So cool. This was another great movie from this fantastic era. With great performances throughout (Kiefer was fantastic as the lead vampire), this whole film was amazing. I know that there are now, if I am not mistaking, two sequels out for this one. Have you seen them? I think they are both probably really bad, but I have not seen them yet, so I can’t judge 😊 Another well written review, love being transported back to the 80’s every time, so keep this reviews coming. I am going to look on Netflix if I might find another 80’s movie that I haven’t seen in a while and do a review for it maybe tomorrow. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It seems I have a few more years before I’m out of the 80’s portal. It’s my 80s series from 1980-1989 ☺ I’m holding on with all I have! Well..I’m enjoying visiting it at best.

      Yes I read about the two sequels I guess the lost boys trilogy, but I can’t seem to want to watch them. It does have Corey Feldman reprising his role again but it’s not enough to make a great impact as the original had on me but I might one day.

      I’m happy that you’re still liking these reviews and thank you. It’s always great to hear when people have grown up watching these kind of movies too, and especially underrated movies that I pick out, because those are the ones I cherish. 😊

      Your posts are always interesting so that sounds good, I look foward to reading it. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s a wonderful movie isn’t it. ☺ I’m glad you love it too. I think i love it for the impressive dialogue. The humour adds a great flavour which worked.

        I’m on the hunt for the soundtrack but I’ve been listening to it online for awhile. It’s great. Thank you for visiting my lair again ..I mean um..my site.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is a tricky and messy business at that if done wrong. It works with some movies like Ghostbustersand I think classic movies just had that great effect of drawing you into their movies yet keeping that fear in check. Thank you for liking these posts so far. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantastic review! I’ve always loved old-school vampire movies, like Near Dark and this. The Lost Boys is one of those rare gems that blend horror and comedy so perfectly. Who doesn’t love the Frog brothers? 😉

    And I couldn’t agree more about the brilliant soundtrack. The hymn Cry Little Sister is unforgettable.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

