Posted in That 80s film

Batman (1989)

Darkness cascades the bat cave  as the story opens to the iconic Batman Theme tune we have grown to love, composed by the talented Danny Elfman.

As a couple and their son take a shortcut through the gritty alleyway of the supposed seventh street, they are attacked by two robbers who tell the lady to ” do yourself a favour, don’t scream for your son”.

Meanwhile Gotham City is doing it’s best to stay above ground as corruption level of crime is at an all time high and there’s rumours of a vigilante who roams the street in the shadows. Some say he drinks blood, others say he can’t be killed. But most want to know if he’s the menacing 6ft creature of the night.

Eager to put the theories to paper are Alexander Knox and ‘hello legs’ Vicki Vale, a photojournalist who’s ” looking to see some wildlife”, bats in particular.

Hold onto your hair lady..we’re going for a sling ride to the other side

Their lead is trusted in following Bruce Wayne to dish up on some stories at his fundraising event, where the pair stumble across his rather exquisite museum where Knox ‘logically’ points out that rich people are so odd because they can afford to be.

Carl Grissom, a big time criminal boss finds himself in trouble, as Harvey Dent and the police force are hot on their trail in finding out about their criminal activities. With his ‘trusted’ guys at hand, he sends his best men which include Jack Napier, ( Jack Nicholson) who has been playing naughty with the bosses mistress Alicia,  to clear the evidence at Axis Chemical Industry.

Unknowingly to Jack and his men, Grissom has set them up by calling the corrupt officer- Max Eckhardt and his police force to raid the place, however Comissioner Gordan also arrives causing a frantic Jack to run and find that exit.

With every man at a corner and nowhere to escape, jack meets with the cape crusader within reach and tries to shoot him,which backfires into his face causing him to stumble backwards into a drum of chemical. Jack Napier reaches for one last hand as he sizzles away and is presumed dead.

This is a  comic book inspired movie which impressed me for the very first time I watched it and it still holds true. Granted I prefer Batman Returns (1992) a little better  but that’s a story for a different era and everyone has to play catch up to eventually..catch on to the bigger picture.

The atmosphere builds up the film’s noir vibe, mixed with the steampunk attitude it strongly visualizes. It can be seen as the birth of the first edgy Batman movie since the 60’s campy tv series which could now see better days.

The audience had never seen such an extravagant Bat attack. I had never seen such  a superhero in his six pack armoured outfit and that was ‘very cool’ to the most of us before the dark knight would eventually rise.

Not only is it a great action -packed movie, I admire it for the ideas that Burton had given birth to which I’m sure were later ‘inspired’  to fit the masks of later revisions of the Batman we have today.

For a director who wasn’t so used to taking on such comic styles, he impressed the theatre goers with his thought out armadillio batmobile and batarangs we could only dream of seeing outside the cartoon series.

Tim Burton described his vision of the movie as ” it’s a fight between two disturbed people. Any character who operates on the outside and is deemed an outcast, a freak, then has the freedom to do what they want. Insanity is in some scary way, the most freedom you can have because you’re not bound by laws of society”.

It is  impressive not only visually with it’s costumes, where the joker is donning his fedora and purple suit like the comic, but  it highlighted the wonderful performance by the eccentric Jack Nicholson as the Joker  who may have lost his head but his womanizing heart stays beating, as his interest in a certain miss Vale is enough to  ” put steam in a man’s strides”. 

Similarity it was a nice touch to see Bruce Wayne portrayed as an awkward everyday man going through his frustrating alter-ego as Batman. The ‘winged freak’ he is so called. Whilst trying to display his demeanor to a crowded party, he seems rather uncomfortable in his own house yet he longs to be loved when he meets the tenacious Vicki Vale. “she is great isn’t she Alfred”, not quite knowing how best and how much he can share with his potential lover.

On the other hand, Jack’s diabolical tendencies give some much deserved credit to the joker I was always excited to see in the cartoon series and this live adaptation  was well executed.

Screenshot_2017-04-22-19-58-39-1
Do I look like I’m joking?

His ‘honey i’m home’!  Enthusiasm can bee seen as creepy yet fascinating, as his brains have certainly been fried to the extent of his wide spread smile. We see him go from the egotistic and sleazy guy to the ” jack is dead my friend. Call me..Joker. As you can see, I’m a lot happier “.

It is highly  worth watching a cape crusader flying into the shadows fighting crime to bring Justice to Gotham while a joker will certainly put a killer smile on your face.

Credits: Movie poster artwork by Mark Welser 

Directed by Tim Burton

Story by Sam Hamm

Starring: Jack Nicholson, Michael Keaton, Kim Basinger and others

Music by Danny Elfman

Other honourable mentions that i love:

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade – Directed by Steven Spielberg

Dead Poets Society- Directed by Peter Weir

Ghostbusters 2- Directed by Ivan Reitman

(I had to rewrite this again as i lost a chunk of my work! so I apologise to anyone who liked it and commented before).

This concludes the 80’s series from 1980-1989, as we come to the end of an era. I hope you enjoyed taking a trip down memory lane as I have enjoyed writing every one of these movies that I once again discovered a love for.


Author:

I'm sonea from a city in the u.k. Born in the late 80's with a vintage heart. My blog is made up of my thoughts; be it on a great movie, a book or a game and other ideas that set my mind apart.. here on an open platform to share with the rest of the world. Won't you join me..

40 thoughts on “Batman (1989)

  1. It’s amazing just how entertaining this movie still is. The imagery is fantastic, all of the actors do a fine job and they look like they’re enjoying themselves at the same time. I’m glad I revisited this film recently, after so many years. and If anyone reading this hasn’t seen Batman or is past due for a rewatch, I recommend a viewing.
    1989 was one of my favourite years at the cinema, with the release of The Fabulous Baker Boys, Field of Dreams, Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade and When Harry met Sally.. I feel sad this feature has come to an end, but the 1990s beckons!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for liking these movies and I also enjoyed When Harry Met Sally. It’s a charming film. Heh it may beckon for awhile as this was just an idea that occurred to me but I shall see about doing one in the future if possible. It does take a lot of effort on my part but it’s been fun to write them. 😊

      Like

  2. Fantastic review! It’s great to see so many reviews on Jack Nicholson movies this week. I love Batman Returns more as well, but Nicholson’s Joker is tremendous in this.

    Looking forward to your 90s series, if you’re planning to do one. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much Jade. Oh I saw a few people myself who I follow doing something called a jack blogathon so it could be due to that but coincidentally it just so happened Mr Jack appeared in my series. Ii’m glad you enjoyed the series. Unfortunately it is quite exhausting for me to do a complete movies series of the entire era as I have found out and I’m unwell so it can be overwhelming but I may write some from the 90’s in a collection form if you’d like that in the future. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh of course and so you should be..it’s what makes people stand out..☺ I think it’s more me in reality being a minority in many aspects amongst people as I’ve been told but I take it in good measure. ☺

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Another great review! You know, many would disagree (including NY husband) by I’ve always liked the older versions of the Batman better than the Nolan directed versions. My favourite was, yes, Batman Returns, but I never quite liked Keaton as Batman… Something about him wasn’t quite right for the role….. Maybe the balding head 😂 Jokes aside, as your rightly pointed out, Nicholson’s Joker was shut scary… Eerie is a better word 😐

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pradita..you do make me laugh. 😁 but yes alot of people even protested to have him taken off the role which is going quite far but I didn’t mind him. I suppose the entire film is strong enough to see past things. And yes in agree and glad you think the same..I prefer it to the Nolan ones oddly. Heath Ledger was great but the plot was a little weaker than what this intended i feel. Yes he is charming but eerie in many movies which is what makes him stand out. 😮

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m glad there were others who hated him in the role. Yes, I’ll admit it now, I hated him. Lol! The most suited for me was Bale, but like you pointed out, the story got waaaaay out of hand to let the poor bloke act it out well enough. I loved Val Kilmer, but only for his looks. His acting was dead. So the complete Batman for me was oddly, from the worst of the Batman movies – Clooney in Batman and Robin 🤣

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I might be in the minority with not minding Keaton as Batman then. I really didn’t like Val Kilmer in any way but yes he had a strange deadpan look about him when acting. Oh dear..that awful movie I wish not to remember! Thank you again for liking the post. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes so do I Paul. I think he had that suave charm about him without ‘showing off’. It’s how I would in vision Bruce Wayne to be. He is not meant to be egotistic and he is awkward like so many of us which I felt was a natural approach to his lavish lifestyle that he didn’t really ask for.

        I wouldn’t advise seeing the movie..it’s quite awful and not awfully funny either though I can hardly remember it for the exact reasons. And yes your right, it’s not an easy look and it was really not impressive..they went back to the campy style from the 60’s and it was very bizarre. 😐

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I have. I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did. I watched the first two seasons and the first one of season three and then forgot about it somehow as it was still in production at the time. I think the story was good overall but there were some episodes I didn’t enjoy. And i don’t particularly like the acting of the young kid Bruce wayne. I really liked the character of Penguin and Fish Mooney. Jada Smith is such a great villain in it. I think without such strong characters I wouldn’t have liked it much as the others were a little bland for my liking. I’m not sure if I will continue watching it to the finale but if I’m intrigued enough I may. ☺How did you find it?

        Like

      2. I haven’t gotten round to it 😦 With X-Files and catching up with Walking Dead (currently series 5), as well as watching Billions, The Good Fight, Blue Bloods and the tennis. It is on there though!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. It is a very powerful and eerie moment when he steps out from the shadows to grin that was carved into his skin from the very beginning as he speaks it. I’m glad you remembered and mentioned it. ☺

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

