Posted in Writing

You’ve Been Tagged ( but not really)

This is the tag post with a twist. The lovely, kind-hearted Vinnieh who ‘writes movies and anything else that comes to mind’ has included me in a post about movies, and since it is one of my favourite topics to speak of, I thought I’d make the effort to engage. (Plus the questions are short yet unique). I’ve mentioned briefly I am not feeling well which will be the case for some time, so blogging will get difficult but I did not want this to get too overdue and lost in the post-  literally.

What DVD/Blu-Ray would you like to receive this year? – It would be nice to get Mad Max: Fury Road to add to my collection of  the Mad Max series. I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did.

Favourite Soundtrack or Song from a Christmas Film? – I love all the soundtrack to the Home Alone movie and  Especially the song Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas by Mel Torme.

Three of your favourite Christmas Films? – Home Alone (1990), The Nightmare Before Christmas  (1993) and Black Christmas  (1974).

A Film that divides people.. The Shining movie? There are a lot of people who disliked it, even Stephen king – the author of the original novel hated it but I thought it was well paced and visually captured the  eerie feeling of the ghostly hotel. Plus a crazed Jack Nicholson is always enticing to watch.

Favourite British Film? – There are always many to choose from but I’ll go with The 39 Steps By Alfred Hitchcock. (It’s about a man in London who is mistakenly framed for the murder of a spy found in his apartment and he has to go on the run. It’s a great mystery thriller.

A Film considered Culturally Significant? – 12 Angry Men (1957) By Sidney Lumet. The group of men debate the fate of an 18 year old boy in trial for allegedly killing his father. Tension builds up in the courtroom and things get out of hand with such an incident that got so heated, it became a phenomenal drama.

Favourite Film Franchise? – There are so many amazing ones to choose but I’ll go with Harry Potter. Each one is surprisingly as magical as the next. It’s not just for kids ahem.

Favourite Childhood Film? – I grew up watching a lot of animated Disney movies on vhs as it was the only way i would ever eat apparently, so one of my beloved ones is called The Rescuers (1977) by Wolfgang Reitherman and then I kept watching The Goonies (1985) by Richard Donner.

Favourite Comedy? – Me, Myself and Irene (2000) by Peter and Bobby Farrelly.

One Film you want all of your followers to watch…- Howl’s Moving Castle by Hayao Miyazaki. I feel like it’s an animated movie mostly anyone would enjoy for it’s thought out character development and the story, along with the stunning visuals and music is just very uplifting while  on the seriousness of the topic of fighting with all you have. Miyazaki himself said it was his favourite creation conveying the message ” that life is worth living”.

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading through my favourtes on this tag, it’s  quite different which is why I liked doing it. The twist is that instead of tagging certain people (because sonea gets a little socially awkward with that), I will ask those of  you who wish to participate, can simply post your answers in the comment section. I’d love to hear your thoughts too or if you wish to spread the love, you can create  a  post for it . Happy thinking to you all.

Credit: Image artwork by sweetsongVD on DeviantArt


Author:

I'm sonea from a city in the u.k. Born in the late 80's with a vintage heart. My blog is made up of my thoughts; be it on a great movie, a book or a game and other ideas that set my mind apart.. here on an open platform to share with the rest of the world. Won't you join me..

26 thoughts on “You’ve Been Tagged ( but not really)

  1. I’m sorry to hear you’re not well. I send you my best wishes for a speedy recovery!
    As for your answers 12 Angry Men is a classic and so is Mad Max:Fury Road. I’m an old school Mad Max fan and I was sceptical about Fury Road, how wrong I was!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hope you’ll get well soon, Sonea! I did enjoy reading this post very much. 😊

    Mad Max: Fury Road is such a wonderful choice! It’s perhaps my favourite Mad Max film so far. So thoroughly thrilling. And there’s just something so special about Christmas films. Does Die Hard count? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I won’t don’t worry. I just feel slightly empty when I can’t or don’t work on some writing as it’s what I enjoy doing but yes the situation complicates things . I’ll see how I can manage.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You write a lot and I find it admirable that you managed to still stay as active on here when you had the busy move too but I also know it can get exhausting and the pressure of it at times so I hope you find some time to enjoy things easier as well. And thank you gain vinnieh for such kindness and caring.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. First off, sorry to hear you are not feeling well. You have always been a great supporter of my blog, and I really enjoy exchanging thoughts with you. I hope you will have a very speedy recovery, and please take good care of yourself.
    Really enjoyed this post. Those answers were awesome. I had not expected to enjoy Mad Max Fury Road so much, but it was really cool. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Michel. Well you have great content and it’s always great to read your thoughts as well as receive them too since we have a lot of similar interest. I’m doing my best as I have taken a break from my site to give myself some time to manage with things. Yes Max Fury really surprised me and one I intend to ‘re watch some time in the future. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, the dynamics and pacing really flowed well and it’s amazing how it draws you into their conversation for that long of a period. It’s great to hear that you got to see it love. I love watching live shows though I haven’t been to many.

      I had to choose one song unfortunately but yes I also love that song. I love the scene where he plays it on record whilst moving the puppets around.

      Like

  4. I also watched The Rescuers when I was a kid – that animation and also Chip ‘n’ Dale, which was somehow on the re-run from the 1950s or something. And isn’t Home Alone a true Christmas time classic? I cannot imagine anyone going by without watching/recalling it when Christmas comes. Enjoyed reading your answers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Really..that is so great to hear. I haven’t met many that have seen the movie, it must have slipped past the many other popular Disney choices. Theres just something very mesmerising and so charming about that movie without the need for a princess entrance. It faces alot of bravery and bold choices from Penny and the two mouse. I sure loved Bianca with her russian hat and vintage outfit. I’ll never meet a sophisitcated mouse lady quite like her. I also have the orchestral soundtrack from the movie. And yes Home Alone I am sure is a firm classic christmas wonder to be seen amongst many if not all. It’s full of well scripted humour and happiness. Thank you for sharing your favourites with me too and for liking the post.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

